Work Order

There are 2 states for a Work Order:

  • When it's not engaged, we call it a “cost to complete”,
  • When it's engaged, we simply call it an “engaged amount”.

Depending of the state, its attributes are different.

The sum of all work orders gives the forecast.

The BizDock application could be configured to use or not the purchase orders (see the System preferences), depending of this configuration, the Work Order's attributes are different.

Attributes

A Work Order has the following set of attributes:

Field Description Available Editable
OPEX? Expenditure type of the Work Order. This flag is used for the comparison with the Budget lines. Cost to complete: all cases
Engaged amount: all cases
Cost to complete: all cases
Engaged amount: -
Shared? A shared Work Order is engaged by a Purchase Order that can be already engaged by other work orders. Usually this kind of purchase orders represents a large amount shared with many projects.
A not shared Work Order is engaged by a not already engaged Purchase Order, meaning we have a “one-to-one” relation.
Cost to complete: only if purchase orders are enabled
Engaged amount: only if purchase orders are enabled
Cost to complete: only if purchase orders are enabled
Engaged amount: -
Name Name of the Work Order Cost to complete: all cases
Engaged amount: all cases
Cost to complete: all cases
Engaged amount: all cases
Description Description of the Work Order Cost to complete: all cases
Engaged amount: all cases
Cost to complete: all cases
Engaged amount: all cases
Amount Amount in the selected currency Cost to complete: all cases
Engaged amount: all cases
Cost to complete: all cases
Engaged amount: only if purchase orders are disabled
Expended Amount The part of the overall amount that already been expended. Usually this value changes over time and is only an informal data (not used for the computations). Cost to complete: -
Engaged amount: all cases
Cost to complete: -
Engaged amount: only if purchase orders are disabled
Currency Currency of the Work Order Cost to complete: all cases
Engaged amount: all cases
Cost to complete: all cases
Engaged amount: only if purchase orders are disabled
Package The corresponding Package of the Work Order. Cost to complete: all cases
Engaged amount: all cases
Cost to complete: all cases
Engaged amount: all cases
Follow package dates If a Package is selected then it's possible to force the dates of the Work Order to it. Cost to complete: all cases
Engaged amount: all cases
Cost to complete: all cases
Engaged amount: all cases
Start date If the Work Order corresponds to a period then the start date should be given.
If the Work Order has a single date then the “Start date” should be empty.
Cost to complete: all cases
Engaged amount: all cases
Cost to complete: all cases
Engaged amount: all cases
Due date If the “Start date” is given then the “Due date” should be filled and corresponds to the end date of the period.
If the “Start date” is not given then the “Due date” could be filled: if settled then the Work Order has a single due date, else it is not dated.
Cost to complete: all cases
Engaged amount: all cases
Cost to complete: all cases
Engaged amount: all cases

The “Editable” possibility depends also if the Work Order is based on effort (allocated resource), please refer to the Effort calculation area to get the attributes that could be modified.

Identity card

All Work Order's data can be seen via the Work Order identity cart:

  • Work Order's attributes depending of the Work Order state and the “Use Purchase Order” configuration,
  • Purchase Order's attributes if the purchase orders are enabled and if the Work Order is engaged.

Work Order management

Add a Work Order

  1. Click on the “Add” icon inside the not engaged Work Orders table,
  2. Complete the Work Order's attributes and Save,
  3. The new Work Order is now available.

A new Work Order is by default a “cost to complete”.

Edit a Work Order

  1. Click on the “Edit” icon for the wished Work Order (engaged or not),
  2. Modify the Work Order's attributes (depending of its state and the system configuration) and Save,
  3. The Work Order data have been updated.

If the Work Order is based on an effort (allocated resource), please refer to the Effort calculation area to get the attributes that could be modified.

Delete a Work Order

  1. Click on the “Delete” icon for the wished Work Order,
  2. Confirm that you want to delete the Work Order. A Work Order can not be restored once deleted. If you delete one by error, you will have to re-create it.
  3. The Work Order is deleted.

This is not possible to delete an engaged Work Order if the Purchase Orders are enabled.

This is not possible to delete a Work Order based on an effort (allocated resource).

Engage a Work Order

“Engage a Work Order” means change its state from “cost to complete” to “engaged amount”.

The process depends on whether usage the purchase orders. This section explains both cases.

When purchase orders are enabled: A Work Order can be engaged only by a Purchase Order with the same currency and the same expenditure type.

The process to engage a Work Order is started by clicking on the “Engage” icon for the wished not engaged entry.

This is not possible to engage a Work Order based on an effort (allocated resource).

Purchase orders are disabled

Step 1: Enter the engaged amount

By default the “Amount to engage” field is filled with the Work Order amount.

Once you have clicked on “Confirm”, the system will engage the Work Order with the given amount.

Step 2 (optional): Report the balance

This step is displayed only if the “Amount to engage” is lesser than the initial “Work Order amount”.

The process is detailed in the Report the balance section.

Purchase orders are enabled

The engaged amount of a not shared Work Order is basically the amount of the selected Purchase Order item.

Step 1: Select the Purchase Order

To select a Purchase order, the User needs to know its exact ref ID.

Once clicking on “Confirm” the system searches all compatible items of the Purchase Order.

An item is compatible if:

  • it has the same expenditure type and currency that the Work Order, and
  • if the Work Order is shared:
    • it is either already engaged (by other shared work orders) but not fully-consumed or it is not engaged
  • if the Work Order is not shared:
    • it is not engaged

Step 2 (optional): Select the Purchase Order item

This step is displayed only if the Purchase Order has more than one compatible items.

To select an item, the User needs to click on the “Engage” icon .

Step 3 (optional): Enter the engaged amount

This step is displayed only if the Work Order is shared.

By default the “Amount” field is filled with the Work Order amount.

The amount could be any value lesser than the remaining amount of the Purchase Order item.

Step 4 (optional): Report the balance

This step is displayed only if the “engaged amount” is lesser than the initial “Work Order amount”.

The process is detailed in the Report the balance section.

Report the balance

When a Work Order is processed to be engaged, the engaged amount could be different than the initial Work Order amount. If it is lesser, this may mean that the Work Order should be engaged in several times. For those specific cases, it's possible to report the balance by creating automatically a new Work Order based on the initial one and for which the amount is the difference between the Work Order amount and the engaged amount.